We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Plymouth Liberal Democrats challenge in every ward

April 8, 2018 6:10 PM
Plymouth Liberal Democrats

Plymouth Lib Dem candidates and supporters in Moorview Park

Plymouth Liberal Democrats are fielding a full slate of candidates in the Plymouth City Council elections for the first time in many years. This reflects the overall growth in the party and the level of enthusiasm from its members.

There has been a consistent increase in the turnout of Lib Dem candidates since the all-time low of the 2014 local elections when only four stood. This increased to 13 in 2005, 17 in 2016 and now there are candidates in every ward.

This is in direct contract to other parties like UKIP, TUSC and the Greens who used to be able to put out a full list of candidates but are now down to just a handful.

Lib Dem local party chair, Jim Spencer, said, "We are delighted to have so many members who would like to be able to contribute to Plymouth's future as councillors. We have been winning by-elections and local council elections across the South West since the General Election and are hoping that voters recognise there is an alternative party capable of running things both practically and with sound judgement."

The Liberal Democrat candidates for Plymouth are:

Budshead - Matthew Radmore

Compton - Steven Guy

Devonport - Fleur Ball

Drake - Charlotte Radmore

Efford and Lipson - Alex Primmer

Eggbuckland - Richard Simpson

Ham - Richard Lawrie

Honicknowle - Mike Gillbard

Moor View - Jim Spencer

Peverell - George Maunder

Plympton Chaddlewood - Louise Ayres

Plympton St Mary - Jeffrey Hall

Plymstock Dunstone - Sima Davarian

Plymstock Radford - Roy Plumley

Southway - Jacqui Spencer

St Budeaux - Stuart Spicer

St Peter and the Waterfront - Hugh Janes

Stoke - Helen Guy

Sutton and Mount Gould - Peter York